2017 Highland Open - Results and full report

Elgin High School was the venue for the UK’s most northerly open fencing tournament when over 80 competitors from places as far afield as Shetland and London competed for the Highland Open Men’s, Women’s Foil, Epee and Sabre titles.

It was also the last time that the present Elgin High School will be used for a sporting event before it is demolished. Robin Paterson, Head Coach at Elgin Duellist Fencing Club who hosts the Highland Open, said “it was hopefully a fitting goodbye for a venue that has served the club well as its weekly training venue and as an excellent venue for this two day competition.”

He added: “in particular the calibre of the Men’s Epee on the Saturday was exceptionally high. We were delighted to welcome Artur Markov (Dunblane Fencing Club) who previously fenced for the Latvian national fencing team and Hugh Keronohan (Culloden Fencing Club) who fenced in the Seoul Olympics. After a full day of competing the winner of the Men’s Epee title on the Saturday was Scottish Team Member Tom Hoffmann (Dingwall and Culloden Fencing Clubs). Tom previously won this title in 2015.”

The highlight for the host Club was the Men’s Foil when Elgin Duellist coaches Callum Sutherland and Robin Paterson came third equal, which was the best ever result that the club has secured at a senior level. The eventual winner was Salle Holyrood fencer, Charlie Broughton from Edinburgh.

Alex Keddie (30) who was a pupil at the High School said, “competing at the weekend brought back fond memories of his time at the School”. Alex, who is also another Club coach competed in the Men’s foil and sabre categories.

Following the success of this year’s competition, it is the intention that Elgin Duellist Fencing Club will once again host the Highland Open Tournament at the new high school once it is completed.

Summary of results for full results here

Men’s Epee

1.Tom Hoffmann Dingwall FC

2. Patrick Opgenoorth St Andrews University FC

3T. Stephen Gerrard Culloden FC

3T. Artur Markov Dunblane FC

Men’s Sabre

Sam McLellan Salle Ossian

Toby Carter Salle Ossian

3T. Richard Wilbraham  Dundee City FC

3T. Ewan Robertson Salle OssianMen’s Sabre

Women’s Sabre

1.Charlotte Wilson-Smith   Salle Ossian

2.Lucy Higham        Salle Ossian

3T. Laura Jamieson Braveheart FC

3T. Ariana Serafinceanu Strathallan FC

Women’s Epee

1. Miriam Figge Wallace FC

2. Caitlin Philbin Carnoustie High School FC

3T. Laura Jamieson Braveheart FC

3T. Katrina Dungay West Fife FC

Men’s Foil

1. Charlie Broughton Salle Holyrood

2. Jonathan Woolard   Wallace FC

3T. Callum Sutherland Elgin Duellist FC

3T. Robin Paterson Elgin Duellist FC

Women's Foil

1. Amirah Sofea Edinburgh FC

2. Ines Kirsten   Edinburgh FC

3T. Kirsty Urquhart Culloden FC

3T. Umaira Saqeef Edinburgh FC